Welcome to the website dedicated to Tantra Yoga and Arts and the Teachings of the Trika tradition, guided by Swami Amrit Mahamedha. The website presents in brief the teachings of Authentic Tantra Yoga and gives information about activities held in Trika Yoga Art Ashram Society. The International Trika Yoga Kala Kshetra Ashram Society is a non-profit organization named after the great Tantric Trika tradition.

In the beginning there was Spanda; throb; primer; finest vibration; sound-light; the mantra-yantra concept, which created all the elements of the universe and the cosmic dance of creation, preservation, destruction, transformation and liberation. Any true art will always express this secret of evolving life. Art is the key instrument of the tantric yoga experience which can be described as acceptance, purification, sublimation, and transcendence of all elements of life without any exceptions. This courageous and at the same time blissful path of transformation of poison into nectar, limitation into freedom, and polarities into one-ness can be considering the ultimate form of liberating alchemy. A tantric artist makes himself a part of this alchemic mystery through an internal and external yogic process and also by learning and using tantric tools, symbols, and patterns.

This timeless art of realizing the truth through beauty and yogic bliss is still alive today in India, in the space where Lord Shiva revealed himself in the form of Agamas: the secret of supreme identity through the art of Tantra Yoga. However, in this present global period of declining ages (known as Kali Yuga and associated ages of Kali Yuga) it is critically important to preserve and extend this unique science and art of liberation for the elevation of mankind as a whole.

Tantra Yoga Art is based on seven tools of knowledge (Sapta Vedas): Yoga; Chitrakala (painting); Sangit (music); Nritya (dancing); Vastu (science of the living space); Ayurved (science of healthy life); and Jotirved (science of cosmic light or astrology and also body reading). Below is a short description of these seven Arts.

Chitrakala (Visual Arts/Painting) is based on the power and liberating art of visual expression of the deepest insight. It’s the ability to create images of one’s spiritual journey back to the Source (images of transformation from the limited individual to the transpersonal and then from the archetypical into the unlimited Universal). Contemplative visualization as well as meditation on certain images is one of the tantric vehicles that will take us toward the divine center within. 

Sangit (Naadyoga or Yoga of Sound) is based on the experience of ‘existence’, including but not limited to the nature of a human being-- as a sound field of different frequencies which create different elements and moods (the 9 rasas). And then finally bringing all of these different creations back to their mutual Source (this is in accordance with North and South Indian music traditions). This is the most ancient, direct, and blissful way to the divine.

Nritya (Art of Dancing) is an embodied dynamic form of light and sound or yantra-mantra nature which originated from the cosmic dance of Shiva and which represents the full circle of life: creation; preservation; destruction; transformation; and liberation. This is particularly represented in the North and South Indian dancing styles.

Vaastu (the ancient Vedic equivalent to the Chinese’s- Feng shui) is a key science of a yantra (structure and composition) of living space and elements along with its application to the arts and the arrangement of our daily life.

Ayurved is the science of how to attain a healthy and balanced life which as a result will help the individual to understand, grasp, and regulate the complex mechanisms of nature (in the form of lifestyle, diet, exercises, treatment and remedies). 

 Jyotirved (Science of Cosmic light-- including Astrology and the art of body reading) is a science that will help an individual to experience unity of the micro and macro universe. One’s own archetype will also become revealed along with cosmic links and divine associations. Most importantly, the student will learn how to apply this knowledge to art.

All of these special types of educational art programs (visual arts, music, dancing) are based on tantra yoga discipline (Kundalini Yoga) as well as the basic principles of Vaastu, Ayurved, Astrology and body reading. The application of these dynamic principles will help students to develop both their artistic skills as well as their own personal qualities. Therefore ‘yoga sadhana’ is a basic compulsory class for all students who are participating in these three main departments: Chitrakala (painting), Sangit (music), and Nritya (dancing). This particular sadhana is based on the ancient Himalayan tradition which includes but is not limited to the following universal stages: Yama-Niyama; Asana; Bandha; Mudra;Pranayama; Swara Yoga; Meditation; and the practice of Yantra and Mantra. It’s also necessary that there will be separate classes held for men and women as they will have specific exercises prescribed to them according to their individual character type and life situation.

The main aim of the Trika Ashram/ Art Centre is to preserve the timeless Parampara (tradition and lineage) of the Masters of life (yogis, artists, and spiritual guides). Through many different forms of their art, they have always been consciously guiding those people who were ready for this inevitable and inescapable journey of the soul back to the Source.

Basic Principles of Tantric Art:

The first task of an artist is to bring unity in the 3 states of the mind:

  • Jagrat (waking state)
  • Svapna (state of dream)
  • Sushupta (state of void)

These 3 altogether create a 4th state of being;

  • Turya (fourth) or Rupatita (state of totality).

"Normal" state of mind of modern humans based on absolute dominance of jagrat (waking "objective" state of mind). Another task of a Tantric artist is crossing limitations of individual state of being and sharing (provoking) this transpersonal experience in the audience.

The third task of Tantric Art is awakening and sublimation of power of our senses and of 9 basic emotions in order to bring it back to its source - Transpersonal state of Shanti (meditative state of being).

The forth task is purification and harmonization of energyfield of life, ecology of life.

Fifth basic task is awakening and sublimation of forgotten or suppressed memories and impressions not only of current life but of previous reincarnations (see law of "preservation of energy" or 3rd law of Newton etc.)

Swami Amrit Mahamedha says, “We are approaching a time when art and creativity, after roaming in the intestines of the commercial industry and market, will come back to its spiritual origin. People will experience this art not per remote control, but in an authentic environment through the unity of space, air, light, water, and earth; image, sound, smell, taste, and touch; and finally, body, mind, and spirit. It’s a time when Art will come back to the Temple."

"People who are making images, sounds, buildings, books, landscapes, etc. should learn the true meaning and the natural laws of ‘liberating creativity’." Without initiation into light, yantra, color, and form, an artist will remain merely an artisan. For example, a real musician should experience the metaphysical nature of sound as well as the musical nature of psychic and physical phenomena. A writer must know the universal power of mantra (the mysterious power of the alphabet) in order to create inspiring text. An architect has to learn Vaastu (the science of living space and elements) which is the essence of any structure. A yogi-artist is a master who is not only realizing the secret of ‘all existence’, but most importantly, he is able to share this blissful experience with the rest of the world."